2015 Niagara Moot Court Competition

February 20 & 21, Washington DC

This year’s Niagara problem raises exciting and relevant international legal issues. The fact pattern involves international tension between countries that are the world’s largest trading partners. The dispute centers around a family separated by deportation and the issue of water rights concerning the industrial use of resources connected to the Great Lakes. Both these issues involve law that is far from settled and confronts evolving realities in the international legal, political, and economic context.

2015 Hotel Options

A block of rooms have been reserved at Hotel George in Washington, D.C. for its convenience to the Niagara Moot Court competition venues and accessibility to Union Station. If you would like to book a room for your team, please do so as follows. A credit card will be required at the time of booking.

You can book your rooms anytime between November 24 and February 6th. Rooms will not be available in the block for Niagara Moot Court after February 6th.

To book your reservation please call (216) 464-1762 ask for Lisa Washington at Flite II Travel. Request a room for “CWRU Niagara Teams.”

At the time of booking the agent will need the name of each team member and information on rooming arrangements. The agent will also need a credit card payment for each room reserved. Rooms are based on double-occupancy.

Hotel George
15 E St NW, Washington, DC 20001

Please be advised: Niagara Team Members are responsible for arranging their own hotel room as described above. All questions related to reservations or any issues must be directed to Lisa Washington at Flite II Travel.

About the Niagara Moot

The Canada-United States Law Institute administers the Niagara International Moot Court Competition, an international law moot that draws teams from law schools in Canada and the United States.

Participating teams address a hypothetical dispute affecting the bi-lateral relationship before the International Court of Justice. The Institute recruits teams, promulgates rules, establishes deadlines, approves the problem, and settles disputes.

The competition is open to all law schools and law faculty across the world!

Niagara International Moot Court Competition
C/O Canada-US Law Institute
11075 East Blvd. RM. 245A
Cleveland, Ohio, USA 44106
Phone: (216) 368-1799
Email: niagara@case.edu


- Niagara Problem
- Problem Clarification
- Competition Info Packet
- Online Registration
- Memorial Grader Form
- Memorial Grader Instructions
- Judge Registration
- Final Round Judges
- Release Forms

- Competition Schedule
- Memorials
- Judge Instructions
- Competition Pairings
- Awards Results

Competition Directors

Ian A. Laird
Niagara Moot Court Chair
Special Legal Consultant
Crowell and Moring

Patrick Maloney
Competition Director
Case Western Reserve University School of Law